Interview

Kelley Armstrong

Hi all, We are just fresh out of Dive in, Teen Fest and it was a great success I just want to say thank you everyone for their hard work in making it a such a success.

Onwards and upwards I have an online interview from one of my Favourite Authors Kelley Armstrong. Kelley is Canadian and has 16 books published to date, Women of the Otherworld, Darkest powers series and two crime novels. She had just released the 12th book in the Otherworld series and they 13th will be out next year and is to be the last for the moment of the Otherworld series.

I just want to say I love your “Otherworld Series” and I’m just
about to start Spellbound and I’m very sad that there will only be one left
after this! Is it definitely the last book in the series?

The Otherworld will end (or go on hiatus) with book 13. I do hope to
write more stories—and maybe even a future novel or two—but I’m ending the
book-a-year schedule.

When you’re starting a new book how do you expand your characters and come up with your plot?

Some characters just come to me when I decide I want a character of a
certain supernatural type–like Elena, my werewolf.  Others are sparked by people I know, have met or read about–like Jaime, my necromancer who came to life after I read an article on a “TV spiritualist” and thought “what if someone like
that really could talk to the dead?”

As for plots. I find ideas everywhere. I can see newspaper articles,
hear songs, read books, see movies or even just watch ads for movies or read
synopses of other books, and they spark the “what if” idea…”what if x happened instead of y?”  For example, my first novel (er, make that, first published novel) Bitten was sparked by an episode of X-Files.  I saw how they “did” werewolves,
and I thought “what if they were done a different way…”  So a story is born.

When you finish the Otherworld books what’s the plans for future Series?

I’ve just sold a new adult series that has some supernatural elements,
but is more mystery. That will follow the Otherworld. I’ve also just sold a
middle-grade fantasy trilogy, which I’m co-authoring with Melissa Marr (Wicked
Lovely, Graveminder)

What kind of books attracted you as a teenager?

Anne Rice’s “The Vampire Lestat” is one. It’s the first book I’d read with the “monster” as the protagonist, and is when I started thinking I could do the same thing with werewolves. “Watership Down” was an early favourite, too—a book that showed me that fantasy went much wider than dragons and elves.

With book sales experiencing a slump across a wide range of genres, YA sales appear to be holding their own. What are your feelings on the health of YA writing compared to, say, ten years ago?

It’s certainly much stronger than it was ten years ago. With the massive success of Twilight, there was a huge jump in the number of YA books published every year. That’s great for writers, but some have started to fear it flooded the market a little, particularly in paranormal, and there’s a growing sense of “paranormal YA exhaustion” among readers.

What are you reading right now?

Internet articles and online resources for feudal Japan, as I wait for my research books to arrive. I’m at that stage in a book, where all my reading is nonfiction. It won’t last long, but it’s a point of complete immersion for a while.

Did you always want to be a writer or did you picture yourself doing anything else?

Growing up, I never thought ‘writer’ was a valid career choice, probably because my parents didn’t. As a child, I wanted to be a veterinarian.  Then I switched to
‘psychologist or programmer’, and ended up training for both.  I did continue to write though, and dreamed of being published someday, even if it didn’t seem as if I could make a career out of it.

Who and What are your inspirations?

My greatest inspiration is the people I see around me.  My books may contain supernatural characters, but they’re based on people I meet every day, overcoming challenges of their own, without the boost of superpowers!

A lot of Authors have come out and said they enjoy listening to certain music while they write or create a new character. Do you listen to music while writing? What would be on your play list at the moment? Do you have different play list for different characters?

I don’t listen to music when I write. I need quiet to fully immerse myself in character. Usually, for playlists, I let readers suggest ideas and then I post a soundtrack online.

What is your Favourite Film? 

The Princess Bride.

Leave a Reply

