Interview

Exclusive Interview with Dan Wells

Dan Wells is just about to release this book Ruins. Ruins is the third and final book the in the Partials trilogy. I don’t know about you but I can’t wait to dive into Ruins.  And to get us in the mood we have an interview, to let us into the mind of Dan Wells.

Why did you decide to have your main Character as a Female?
There are several answers to this question, so I’ll just give two. First: because I love Hermione Granger, and it always bugged me that she did all the work and solved all the problems and then Harry got the credit. I wanted to write a book where nerdy, hothead, heart-on-her-sleeve Hermione got to have the spotlight. Second, and a more simple answer: I made the main character female because I have two daughters, and I wanted to give them a role model. Growing up as a white male I was always able to see myself in fiction: I was Luke Skywalker and Bilbo Baggins and Taran the Assistant Pig-Keeper and a thousand other heroes. We’re starting to see a lot more big-name heroines as well, and that’s awesome, and Kira is just me doing my part to keep that ball rolling.
 
Is Marcus based on someone in the real world?
No one single person, but kind of. I knew from the beginning that Kira would fall for two characters and have to choose between them, and I wanted that choice to really mean something, so I made them as different as I could: Samm is quiet, so Marcus is talkative. Samm is physical, so Marcus is brainy, and so on and so on. Know that Marcus was talkative and brainy made it easy to figure out who he was, and why someone would love him, and since I’m a big old nerd myself it was easy to draw on me and on my friends to help flesh him out. I worked on a small-press science fiction magazine in college, and almost everyone on that very talkative, very brainy staff ended up folded into Marcus in one way or another.
 
Is it going to be hard saying goodbye to the Partials series and its characters?
Definitely. I ended up with such a great cast of characters, and they’ve come through so many horrible experiences and grown so much as a result, that I would love to just keep writing their stories forever. I can’t guarantee that I ever will, because I have so many other ideas clamoring to get out of my head, but you never know.
 
Are you a fan of Joss Whedon as he seems to have a lot of strong female leads along with quip-y dialogue?
I was never a hard-core Buffy fan, but I love Whedon’s work and I’m a huge Firefly geek.
 
If Fragments was to be made into a movie who would you visualise as playing your main characters?  (Wish List)
I have no idea. I don’t follow young actors well enough to know who’s out there and the right age. That said, I tend to “cast” my lead characters as I write, and Kira was written with Freida Pinto in mind, though that was years ago and she doesn’t do teen roles anymore. That’s a good point to bring up, though: I had a meeting with a production team at Comic Con a few years ago, talking about the potential of Partials as a film, and I told them that I felt very strongly about the Hollywood trend to white-wash YA characters. If Kira ever appears on-screen, she’ll be Indian. (Or she’ll be white and I’ll throw a huge fit about it on Twitter 🙂 )
 
How did you find your visit to Ireland last year? Did you find the YA’s from South Dublin Schools differ from your audiences in America?
I loved my visit to Ireland, and I hope to go back again soon. And honestly, I didn’t find the teens in one country to be all that different from the teens in another: some of them are very quiet, some of them are very talkative, some of them hate reading, some of them love it, and there’s always that one kid in the audience you think isn’t paying any attention at all, and then they ask some completely brilliant question that knocks your socks off.
 
So I you’ve had a Serial killer boy and a genetically modified girl whats next to come out of the mind of Dan Wells?
I got a cloning book that my agent is currently shopping around, plus I’ve just signed a deal for two new trilogies: more books about John Cleaver (the serial killer boy) and a new series called Mirador about a teen girl hacker in a future Los Angeles.
 
What’s your Favourite Book and what book do you wish you had of written?
My favorite book of all time is Dune, by Frank Herbert. One book I wish I had written is The Alienist by Caleb Carr, which is a brilliant piece of historical fiction about the world’s first use of psychological profiling to catch a serial killer. It’s right up my alley, and hits all my sweet spots, and is a fantastic piece of prose besides. I love it.
 
Do you find Social media a good tool to interact with your readers and does it help you promote your books or do you find it a drain on your time that could be spent writing?
I love social media, and I’m constantly on twitter and Facebook and Goodreads and such. I’d be doing social media even if I wasn’t an author, so it doesn’t feel like a chore at all. I do have to be careful not to let it eat up too much time, though:)
 
What is your favourite genre to read and what authors are currently inspiring you?
It’s surprising, even to me, but I read more historical fiction than anything else. Bernard Cornwell is one of my favorite authors, and I just finished his newest book last week. The author I’m reading right now is Marissa Meyer, whose Lunar Chronicles are just a non-stop parade of creativity, mashing together sci-fi and politics and magic and romance and war and even fairy-tale retellings, all in a single series. They’re fantastic.
Leave a Reply

