Book Review

Darkness Before Dawn By J.A. London

Darkness Before Dawn By J.A. London

 

Goodreads Summary

Only sunlight can save us.

We built the wall to keep them out, to keep us safe. But it also makes us prisoners, trapped in what’s left of our ravaged city, fearing nightfall.

After the death of my parents, it’s up to me–as the newest delegate for humanity–to bargain with our vampire overlord. I thought I was ready. I thought I knew everything there was to know about the monsters. Then again, nothing could have prepared me for Lord Valentine . . . or his son. Maybe not all vampires are killers. Maybe it’s safe to let one in.

Only one thing is certain: Even the wall is not enough. A war is coming and we cannot hide forever.

 

Our Review

When I Picked up this book I wasn’t expecting to much. The whole vampire thing had been done to death and I thought I was pretty much on the way out with them. But I was pleasantly surprised that it held my attention past the 2nd chapter. I ended up reading it pretty quickly as i couldn’t put it down. The start was so darkly written and I loved it however as the book went on it felt a little different. This could be because there was two writers and i could feel it while reading it. Parts I loved, parts where just ok. I will say however I am a grown woman, (wouldn’t go so far as to say adult 😉 ) and it was not written for my age group so it could be taken differently for the age group it was written for.

It’s a little weird cause Dawn is supposed to be this kick ass girl who can fight her way out of anything but yet she doesn’t. She seems to be save by Victor or someone else. But in saying that I do Like Dawn, but her character maybe shouldn’t have to talked up to be this warrior when she is clearly not.

Victor is by far my Favourite things in this book and I think that dawn gives him a really hard time even though he’s been there for her and takes her abuse but yet still cares for her and is willing to do anything for her is very endearing. Victor is smart, strong, caring, loyal and everything a girl could want in a guy.  Who cares if he could only come out at night.

I feel I was a little negative with this review but in actual fact i really enjoyed this book and Gave it 4 stars out of 5 on goodreads.

One of the things I liked about this book is that it ended in such as way as we know in the next book its going to be filled with twists and turns and I for one am really looking forward to it!

The 2nd book “Blood-Kissed Sky” is out 26th December and It will be one of the first books I will read in the new year 😉

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

