Teen Reading Blognificence

Book Clubs

Did you know that our Libraries across South Dublin all have Young Adult Book Clubs?

They meet at different times of the month to read exciting books from our young adult collections.

In Ballyroan Library last month we read, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey and next month we are reading Partials by Dan Wells.

If your interested in Joining any of our book clubs please give any of our Libraries a call and talk to a member of staff.

Here are some new releases from last month. I have to say some really exciting titles. October promises to be even more exciting!

A Different Me by Deborah Blumenthal

Release Date: 1st of September 2014

Allie Johnston’s secret wish since the day she was twelve is to have her nose done. But she hasn’t told anyone–not her parents, or even her best friend, Jen. But when she starts visiting a plastic surgery discussion board on the Web, she finds people who get her, for the first time in her life. Her new friends, including two girls her age with vastly different backgrounds who share her obsession with changing their faces–but for very different reasons. A sharply written, insightful book about learning to be happy with who we are.

Anatomy of a Misfit by Andrea Portes

Release Date: 2nd Of September

This emotional, hilarious, devastating, and ultimately triumphant YA debut, based on actual events, recounts one girl’s rejection of her high school’s hierarchy—and her discovery of her true self in the face of tragedy.

Read the rest of this entry »

A Crack In Everything by Ruth Frances Long

Welcome to The Other Side …

Chasing a thief, Izzy Gregory takes a wrong turn down a Dublin alley and finds the ashes of a fallen angel splashed across the dirty bricks like graffiti. She stumbles into Dubh Linn, the shadowy world inhabited by the Sidhe, where angels and demons watch over the affairs of mortals, and Izzy becomes a pawn in their deadly game. Her only chance of survival lies in the hands of Jinx, the Sidhe warrior sent to capture her for his sadistic mistress, Holly. Izzy is something altogether new to him, turning his world upside down.

A thrilling, thought-provoking journey to the magic that lies just beside reality.

A Crack in Everything, is the first in a trilogy set in the world of demons, angels and fairies that exists in modern day Dublin.

I was a very lucky girl last week and headed into the launch of Ruth Frances Long’s newest release “A Crack In Everything”. It was being held in the Gutter Bookshop in Temple Bar. An amazing independent book shop in the heart of Dublin. Not many of them left so there isn’t. Read the rest of this entry »

August New Releases

August New Releases

Here’s some new releases I hope you didn’t miss over the month of August. Don’t forget you can order on are website!

The Girl from the Well By Rin Chupeco

Release Date: 5th Of August

You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being has nothing to do with the curiosity toward my own species, if we can be called such. We do not go gentle, as your poet encourages, into that good night.

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

The Girl from the Well is A YA Horror novel pitched as “Dexter” meets “The Grudge”, based on a well-loved Japanese ghost story.

Random by Tom Leveen

Release Date: 12th of August

Who’s the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why.

Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It’s a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on the line.

He asks for a single thing—one reason not to kill himself.

The request plunges her into confusion. Because if this random caller actually does what he plans, he’ll be the second person connected to Tori to take his own life. And the first just might land her in jail. After her Facebook page became Exhibit A in a tragic national news story about cyberbullying, Tori can’t help but suspect the caller is a fraud. But what if he’s not? Her words alone may hold the power of life or death.

With the clock ticking, Tori has little time to save a stranger—and maybe redeem herself—leading to a startling conclusion that changes everything…

Can’t look Away by Donna Cooner

Release Date: 26th of August

Donna Cooner establishes herself as our own Jodi Picoult in this timely tale of sisters, loss, and redemption.

Torrey Grey is famous. At least, on the internet. Thousands of people watch her popular videos on fashion and beauty. But when Torrey’s sister is killed in an accident — maybe because of Torrey and her videos — Torrey’s perfect world implodes.

Now, strangers online are bashing Torrey. And at her new school, she doesn’t know who to trust. Is queen bee Blair only being sweet because of Torrey’s internet infamy? What about Raylene, who is decidedly unpopular, but seems accepts Torrey for who she is? And then there’s Luis, with his brooding dark eyes, whose family runs the local funeral home. Torrey finds herself drawn to Luis, and his fascinating stories about El dio de los Muertos, the Day of the Dead.

As the Day of the Dead draws near, Torrey will have to really look at her own feelings about death, and life, and everything in between. Can she learn to mourn her sister out of the public eye?

Ghost House by Alexandra Adornetto

Release Date: 26th of August

From the New York Times bestselling author of Halo comes the start of a beautiful and powerful new series.

After the loss of her mother, Chloe Kennedy starts seeing the ghosts that haunted her as a young girl again. Spending time at her grandmother’s country estate in the south of England is her chance to get away from her grief and the spirits that haunt her. Until she meets a mysterious stranger…

Alexander Reade is 157 years dead, with secrets darker than the lake surrounding Grange Hall and a lifelike presence that draws Chloe more strongly than any ghost before. But the bond between them awakens the vengeful spirit of Alexander’s past love, Isobel. And she will stop at nothing to destroy anyone who threatens to take him from her.

To stop Isobel, Chloe must push her developing abilities to their most dangerous limits, even if it means losing Alex forever… and giving the hungry dead a chance to claim her for their own.

Into the Grey by Celine Kiernan

Release Date: 26th of August

A pacy, chilling ghost story from the creator of the internationally acclaimed Moorehawke Trilogy.

I think the fire changed us – me and Dom. I think that’s how the boy was able to see us. Though he’d been there for every summer of our childhood, we’d only been stupid boys until then. Stupid, happy, ignorant boys. And what in hell would he have had in common with two stupid boys? But after the fire we were different. We were maybe a little bit like him. And so he saw us, at last, and he thought he’d found a home…

Six Feet Over It by Jennifer Longo

Release Date: 26th of August

Home is where the bodies are buried.

Darkly humorous and heart-wrenchingly beautiful, Jennifer Longo’s YA debut about a girl stuck living in a cemetery will change the way you look at life, death, and love.

Leigh sells graves for her family-owned cemetery because her father is too lazy to look farther than the dinner table when searching for employees. Working the literal graveyard shift, she meets two kinds of customers:

Pre-Need: They know what’s up. They bought their graves a long time ago, before they needed them.

At Need: They are in shock, mourning a loved one’s unexpected death. Leigh avoids sponging their agony by focusing on things like guessing the headstone choice (mostly granite).

Sarcastic and smart, Leigh should be able to stand up to her family and quit. But her world’s been turned upside down by the sudden loss of her best friend and the appearance of Dario, the slightly-too-old-for-her grave digger. Surrounded by death, can Leigh move on, if moving on means it’s time to get a life?

Modern Jane Austen

Jane Austen was well able to tell a good Romance story, with wit thrown in. What you might not know is that some of your favorite books and movies are actually modern-day adaptations of her classic novels.

Jane Austen was born 16th December 1775 and died 18th July 1817 at the age of 41. The seventh child and second daughter of Cassandra and George Austen, Jane Austen was born in

Steventon, Hampshire, England. Jane’s parents were well-respected community members. Her father served as the Oxford-educated rector for a nearby Anglican parish. The family was close and the children grew up in an environment that stressed learning and creative thinking. When Jane was young, she and her siblings were encouraged to read from their father’s extensive library. The children also authored and put on plays and charades. Read the rest of this entry »

10 Books That You shouldn’t Judge By Their Covers

 

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

Reserve Here!

Read the rest of this entry »

James Patterson’s ‘Maximum Ride’ Books to Be a Series on YouTube

Maximum Ride is a young adult book series. The series is centered around the adventures of Maximum “Max” Ride and five other characters after their escape from the lab facility known as The School. Their group is labeled the Flock, reminiscent of the fact that each of the main characters are avian-human hybrids. They are only 98% human, while the other 2% is avian, giving them wings. This is a result from the Flock’s past involvement with The School.

Read the rest of this entry »

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers